The AACT promotes and unites scientists and clinicians in the advancement of research, education and treatment of diseases caused by chemicals, drugs and toxins. AACT provides support through research awards and grant programs in all stages of one’s career. 

The AACT Research awards are designed to stimulate interest in research by members of the AACT as well as their trainees.  The goal of the AACT research awards program is to provide competitive funding for research that encourages the development of new therapies and treatment and adds to the understanding of the principles and practice of clinical toxicology. The intended research projects should advance the mission of the AACT to unite “scientists and clinicians in the advancement of research, education, prevention and treatment of diseases caused by chemicals, drugs and toxins.” 

The awards encompass a number of styles, including individual small grants to senior investigators or to toxicology trainees to study specific topics, larger grants to clinical toxicologists that are in the early stage of their careers, and travel grants so that students and trainees can present their research at the NACCT meeting. The mentoring of trainees by more experienced senior investigators is a key aspect of certain awards

AACT supports the professional growth and development of young clinicians by supporting projects through our grants program. Student and Trainee travel awards are also available to support travel to NACCT.

Several different types of awards and grant programs exist. Specific information is available for each program on the right. 

2018 AACT Award Recipients

Junior Investigator Award
Patrick C Ng, MD
Denver Health and Hospital Authority
Novel Oral Countermeasures for Acute Oral Cyanide Poisoning

Toxicology Trainee Research Award
Bryan Stierman MD, MPH
Boston Children’s Hospital
“Neurodevelopmental Effects of Prenatal Manganese Exposure Neurodevelopmental Effects of Prenatal Manganese Exposure”

Hide All Show All

Past AACT Student and Trainee Travel Award Recipients 

Caitlin Bonney, MD
2017 Recipient 
University of Massachusetts Medical School
“A video-based emergency department education program for opioid overdose recognition and response”

Anne Marie Guthrie, PharmD
2017 Recipient 
University of Illinois at Chicago
“Palatability of effervescent vs standard oral n­acetylcysteine: Is it worth all the fizz?”

Lauren Klein, MD
2017 Recipient 
Hennepin County Medical Center
“A Randomized Trial of Intramuscular Olanzapine versus Oral Clonidine for Symptomatic Treatment of Opioid Withdrawal in the Emergency Department”

Corie Robinson, BS
LSU Health Sciences Center-Shreveport
“Inhibiting apical and basolateral transporters decreases uptake of diglycolic acid in human proximal tubule cells: an in-vitro analysis of transport characteristics of the toxic metabolite of diethylene glycol” 

Past AACT Gary S. Wasserman Memorial Pediatric Abstract Award Recipients

Christopher Gaw, MD, MBE
2017 Recipient 
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
“Evaluation of Dose and Outcomes from Pediatric Vilazodone Ingestions”

Past AACT Research Grant Award Recipients 

Morgan Riggan, MD

2017 Recipient
New York University and Bellevue Hospital, New York City Poison Control Center
The effects of activated charcoal and polyethylene glycol with electrolyte solution on bupropion XL concentration in vitro”

Past AACT Toxicology Trainee Research Grant

Sean Boley, MD
2016 Recipient 
Hennepin County Medical Cente
A prospective analysis of physostigmine use versus standard care in the treatment of anticholinergic toxicity

JoAn R. Laes, MD
2014 Recipient 
HealthPartners Institute for Education and Research
“Toxicology Education in Emergency Medicine: A Formal Needs Assessment and Pilot Study”

Past AACT Junior Investigator Award

David H. Jang, MD
2011 Recipient 
New York University School of Medicine
Methylene blue in an experimental model of severe shock from calcium channel blocker poisoning

Jon B. Cole, MD
2013 Recipient 
Hennepin County Medical Center
A randomized double blind controlled study comparing haloperidol to ketamine as a chemical restraint for “severe agitation

George Sam Wang, MD
2016 Recipient 
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Physostigmine vs. Lorazepam for Treatment of Adolescent Antimuscarinic (Anticholinergic) Toxidrome

Past AACT Lampe-Kunkel Memorial Award

2005 Award Winners

Study Title:  Mycotoxins and Toxigenic Fungi in the Outdoor Environment
PI:  Daniel Sudakin, M.D.
Institution:  Oregon State University
Grant Amount:  $2,250

Study Title:  Assessment of Charcoal Adsorption of Botulinum Toxin
PI:  Robert Hoffman, M.D.
Institution:  Beth Israel Medical Center
Grant Amount: $1827

2007 Award Winner

Study Title:  Cross-reactivity of False Hellebore Steroid Alkaloid Compounds with a Digoxin Clinical Chemistry Assay
PI:  Laura K. Bechtel, Ph.D.
Institution:  University of Virginia
Grant Amount:  $1,500

2012 Award Winner

Study Title: Lily of the Valley Ingestion: Epidemiology, Laboratory Diagnosis and Treatment of Convallaria Toxicity
PI: Asim Tarabar, MD and Thomas Robey, MD
Institution: Yale School of Medicine
Grant Amount: $3,750

2014 Award Winner

Study Title: Ginkgo Biloba and Panax Ginseng’s effects on driving compared to placebo: a pilot study
PI: Michael Greenberg, MD
Institution: Drexel University
Grant Amount: $3,750

2016 Award Winner

Study Title: Physostigmine vs. lorazepam for treatment of adolescent antimuscarinic (anticholinergic) toxidrome
PI: George Sam Wang, MD
Institution: University of Colorado Denver
Grant Amount: $44,894