About Us

The American Academy of Clinical Toxicology (AACT) is a not-for-profit multi-disciplinary organization which was established in 1968 by a group of physicians and scientists with the specific goal of advancing the diagnosis and treatment of poisonings.

In 1974, the AACT established the American Board of Medical Toxicology (ABMT) to certify physicians in the specialty of clinical toxicology. This subspecialty was recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties in 1992.  In 1985, a second certifying board, the American Board of Applied Toxicology (ABAT) was established for non-physician peer recognition.

AACT has grown into an international membership organization of over 800 clinical and research toxicologists, physicians, veterinarians, nurses, pharmacists, analytical chemists, industrial hygienists, poison information center specialists, and allied professionals.  The Academy remains devoted to the advancement of research, education, prevention and treatment of diseases caused by chemicals, drugs and toxins, and to providing a forum via its scholarly journal and educational programs for sharing information, research and training.

Clinical Toxicology is the official journal of AACT, the European Association of Poisons Centres and Clinical Toxicologists (EAPCCT), and the American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC), and publishes peer-reviewed scientific research and clinical advances in clinical toxicology. The journal reflects the professional concerns and best scientific judgment of its sponsors and is the leading international journal in the specialty. 

AACT partners with the American Association of Poison Control Centers annually to conduct the North American Congress of Clinical Toxicology (NACCT), the world’s largest clinical toxicology meeting which brings together scientists and clinicians from around the globe. NACCT presents a scientific and clinical forum where over 800 scientists and clinicians from allied disciplines gather to exchange information, pool their knowledge, consider problems of mutual interest, and develop ideas that will stimulate further research.  The three-day meeting features peer-reviewed scientific papers, symposia, and poster sessions, along with invited lectures and addresses by top experts in the field.  Two days of full length pre-meeting symposia are offered prior to the beginning of the Congress, and time is devoted to networking, special interest sections and group meetings, and social activities.

Today, the Academy is uniquely positioned to provide a multi-disciplinary perspective as the only organization that unites scientists and clinicians in the shared goal of developing safe, effective therapies and technologies for the treatment of human and animal poisoning. 

We invite you to join in that shared goal and contact us for more information.

Hide All Show All

Board of Trustees Members

Your current Board of Trustees Members for 2018-2019

Mark Kostic, MD, FAACT

Kirk Cumpston, DO, FAACT

Past President
Robert Palmer, PhD, DABAT, FAACT

Jeanna Marraffa, PharmD, DABAT, FAACT

Shawn Varney, MD, FAACT

F. Lee Cantrell, PharmD, DABAT, FAACT
Jon Cole, MD, FAACT
Sophie Gosselin, MD, FRCPC, FAACT
Robert S. Hoffman, MD, FAACT
Christopher Hoyte, MD, FAACT
Jennifer Lowry, MD, FAACT
Jim Mowry, PharmD, DABAT, FAACT
Tammi Schaeffer, DO, FAACT
Susan Smolinske, PharmD, DABAT, FAACT
Jillian Theobald, MD, PhD

Committee Chairs


AACT has numerous multi-disciplinary active committees and sections. AACT wants you to become involved! 

By-Laws Committee
John Benitez, MD, Chair (Email)

Communications and Technology Committee
Jeanna Marraffa, PharmD, Chair (Email)

Continuing Health Care Professional Education Committee
Kirk Cumpston, MD, Co-Chair (CME) (Email)
Nadia Awad, PharmD, Co-Chair (CPE) (Email)
Renee Petzel Gimbar, PharmD, Co-Chair (CPE) (Email)

Fellowship Committee
Jennifer Lowry, MD, Chair (Email)

Membership Committee
Tammi Schaeffer, DO, Chair (Email)

Nominations Committee
Robert Palmer, PhD, DABAT, Chair (Email)

NACCT Planning Committee
Mark Kostic, MD, (Email)

Publications Committee
Susan Smolinske, PharmD, Newsletter Co-Editor (Email)
Sara Lookabill, PharmD, Newsletter Co-Editor (Email)

Public Relations Committee
Nicholas Nacca, MD, Co-Chair (Email)
Jennifer Lowry, MD, Co-Chair (Email)
Jeanna Marraffa, PharmD, Co-Chair (Email)

Research Awards Committee
Kenneth McMartin, PhD, Chair (Email)

Strategic Planning Committee
Christopher Hoyte, MD, Chair (Email)

Scientific Committee
Sophie Gosselin, MD, Chair (Email)

Question of the Day
Michael Greenberg, MD, Chair (Email)

Friends of the Academy
Alan Woolf, MD, Chair (Email)

AACT Senior Member Benefit and Engagement
Mark Thoman, MD, Chair (Email)

Ethics Committee
Jennifer Lowry, MD, Co-Chair (Email)
Susan Smolinske, PharmD, Co-Chair (Email)

Administrative Office Staff

The AACT Administrative Office can be reached at any time by phone (571-488-6000) or via email to admin@clintox.org

Sarah Shiffert
Executive Consultant

Jessica Konrath, MA, CAE
Executive Director

Victoria Cooper
Executive Assistant

George B. Degnon
Executive Assistant